Native American Dollar

The Native American Dollar is a new series of golden colored dollar coins issued by the United States Mint. Each year features a new reverse design carrying a different theme to honor the accomplishments and contributions of Native Americans.

Native American Dollar

The first issue of the series was released in 2009, following the completion of the previous Sacagawea Dollars. The new series would continue to feature the same obverse portrait, but with some modification to the inscriptions. A new reverse design would be created for each year of the series based on a different theme.

In 2009, the Native American Dollar featured a theme of Agriculture, with a depiction of the "Three Sisters" method of planting. For 2010, the theme focused on government with a visual representation of the Haudenosaunee or Iroquois Confederacy.

This has been followed by an issue to recognize the first formal written peace treaty between Native Americans and European settlers. This was represented with a depiction of the hands of Supreme Sachem Ousamequin Massasoit and Governor John Carver exchanging the symbolic peace pipe. The 2012-dated coin marked the spread of the horse with a profile image of a Native American chief and horse.

In 2013, the reverse design commemorated the Delaware Treaty of 1778, the first written treaty between the newly formed United States and a Native American tribe. The image of a howling wolf, turkey, and turtle represented the clans of the Delaware tribe.

The series has gone on to recognize how native hospitality helped ensure the success of the Lewis and Clark expedition and honor the Mohawk Ironworkers who worked on building prominent landmarks in New York City and other skylines.

This site will provide basic information about the series of Native American Dollars along with a selection of coins for sale. Add this unique series to your collection of coins.